HANBAN or the Office of Chinese Language Council International was established by the Chinese Government in 1987 to promote and foster the study of Mandarin internationally. 

HANBAN’s vision is to enhance mutual understanding and friendships between the Chinese people and other peoples of the world, promoting trade, economic co-operation, scientific, technological and cultural exchanges. 

HANBAN comprises members from 12 state ministries and commissions: 

The General Office of the State Council 

The Ministry of Education 

The Ministry of Finance 

The Overseas Chinese Affairs Office of the State Council 

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs 

The State Development and Reform Commission 

The Ministry of Commerce, the Ministry of Culture 

The State Administration of Radio Film and Television (China Radio International) 

The State Press and Publications Administration 

The State Council Information Office 

The State Language Committee


Click here for WeChat link to Hanban